Dr. Simon Bergman, MD, MSc, FRCSC, FACS
 
Investigator, Lady Davis Institute
Assistant Professor of Surgery, McGill University
Department of Surgery, Jewish General Hospital

Dr. Bergman's Publications Indexed on PubMed
 
Dr. Bergman obtained his medical degree from McGill University in 2001 and pursued his postgraduate training in general surgery. During this time, he obtained an M.Sc., funded by the Surgical Scientist in Experimental Surgery, focusing on surgical recovery and patient-centered outcomes. In 2008, he completed a fellowship in minimally invasive surgery at The Ohio State University, which included research in technology assessment and bariatric surgery. In 2008, Dr. Bergman returned to Montreal to become Assistant Professor of Surgery at McGill University and a clinician-scientist in the Department of Surgery at the Jewish General Hospital and Lady Davis Institute. He is also an investigator at Solidage: McGill University/Université de Montréal Research Group on Frailty and Aging.

Major Research Activities

Dr. Bergman’s main research interests are the impact of surgery on elderly patients, and evaluating the quality of care received by this population and how it may be optimized. In addition, he has studied the use of patient-centered outcomes in describing surgical recovery in this population, as well as the outcomes of elderly patients with biliary disease. He has also studied the relationship between pre-operative cognitive impairment and the development of post-operative delirium.

He maintains an interest in educational research, and is responsible for the development and assessment of the continuing medical education (CME) materiel offered at the Society of American Gastrointestinal and Endoscopic Surgeons (SAGES) annual meeting. In addition, he is involved in learning curve analysis in laparoscopic surgery, as well as the impact of research training during surgical residency.


Recent Publications

Bergman S, Deckelbaum D, Lett RR, Haas B, Demyttenaere SV, Munthali V, Mbembati N, Museru L, Razek T. Assessment of the Trauma Team Training Program in Tanzania. Journal of Trauma 2008; 65(4): 879-883.

Bergman S, Fix DJ, Volt K, Roland JC, Happel L, Reavis KM, Cios TJ, Ho V, Evans A, Narula VK, Hazey JW, Melvin WS. Do gastrotomies require repair following endoscopic transgastric peritoneoscopy? A controlled study. Gastrointestinal Endoscopy 2010; 71(6): 1013-1017.

Bergman S, Sourial N, Vedel I, Hanna WC, Fraser SA, Newman D, Bilek AJ, Galatas C, Marek JE, Monette J. Gallstone disease in the elderly: Are older patients managed differently? Surgical Endoscopy 2011; 25(1): 55.
Snapshot


 
 
Important Links

 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital

CENTRE MÉDIA    |    IMPRIMER    |     ENGLISH
   


 

 
Dr Simon Bergman, M.D., M. Sc., FRCSC, FACS
Professeur adjointe en chirurgie, Université McGill
Département de chirurgie, Hôpital général juif
 
Le Dr Bergman a obtenu son diplôme en médecine à l’Université McGill, en 2001, et a poursuivi sa formation spécialisée en chirurgie générale. Pendant cette même période, il a obtenu un diplôme de maîtrise, financé par le programme de chirurgien chercheur en chirurgie expérimentale, portant sur le rétablissement postopératoire et les résultats axés sur les patients. En 2008, il a complété une spécialisation en microchirurgie à l’Université de l’état de l’Ohio qui comprenait des recherches sur l’évaluation des technologies et la chirurgie bariatrique. En 2008, le Dr Bergman est retourné à Montréal où il a été embauché à titre de professeur adjoint en chirurgie à l’Université McGill et de chercheur clinicien au Département de chirurgie de l’Hôpital général juif et à l’Institut Lady Davis. Il est aussi chercheur au sein du groupe Solidage: le Groupe de recherche de l’Université de Montréal et de l’Université McGill sur la fragilité et le vieillissement.
 
Principales activités de recherche
 
Les principaux intérêts de recherche du Dr Bergman portent sur l’impact de la chirurgie chez les personnes âgées et l’évaluation de la qualité des soins prodigués à cette clientèle et comment elle peut être optimisée. Par ailleurs, il a étudié l’utilisation de résultats axés sur les patients pour décrire le rétablissement postopératoire chez cette clientèle, ainsi que les résultats obtenus chez les personnes âgées atteintes de maladie des voies biliaires. Il s’intéresse aussi à la relation entre les troubles cognitifs préopératoires et l’apparition du delirium postopératoire. 

Il est toujours intéressé par la recherche pédagogique et est responsable de la conception et de l’évaluation de documents de formation médicale continue (FMC) fourni lors de la conférence annuelle de la Society of American Gastrointestinal and Endoscopic Surgeons (SAGES). Par ailleurs, il participle à l’analyse de la courbe d’apprentissage en chirurgie laparoscopique, ainsi qu’à l’impact de la formation en recherche au cours du programme de résidence en chirurgie.
 
Publications récentes
 
Bergman S, Deckelbaum D, Lett RR, Haas B, Demyttenaere SV, Munthali V, Mbembati N, Museru L, Razek T. Assessment of the Trauma Team Training Program in Tanzania. Journal of Trauma 2008; 65(4): 879-883.

Bergman S, Fix DJ, Volt K, Roland JC, Happel L, Reavis KM, Cios TJ, Ho V, Evans A, Narula VK, Hazey JW, Melvin WS. Do gastrotomies require repair following endoscopic transgastric peritoneoscopy? A controlled study. Gastrointestinal Endoscopy 2010; 71(6): 1013-1017.

Bergman S, Sourial N, Vedel I, Hanna WC, Fraser SA, Newman D, Bilek AJ, Galatas C, Marek JE, Monette J. Gallstone disease in the elderly: Are older patients managed differently? Surgical Endoscopy 2011; 25(1): 55.


 


© 2010 Institut Lady Davis/Hôpital général juif. Tous droits réservés.
Réalisé par Blue Lemon Media Inc.
Plan du site | Avertissement